Thrifty ways to dress up home for holidays

Nothing puts me in the Holiday spirit then seeing homes decorated for the holidays.  I can still remember driving my kids around town to see all of the homes all light up.  Here is an article that I found to help everyone decorate their homes without costing a fortune.

Hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season!

Enjoy,

Donna

By SARAH WELCH and • ALICIA ROCKMORE

Just flip through any catalog or walk into a department store and it seems that the holidays have become an over-the-top affair.

It comes at a time when we’re already feeling the pinch with parties and gifts, and now the style police seem to be telling us that we’re just not in the holiday spirit if we don’t have light-up nutcrackers on our front lawns.

Enough is enough, and it’s time to stop the madness.

Who said that a $150 wreath was better than one you made yourself? Go old school with a few homemade and crafty ideas and your holidays will be both festive and financially responsible.

Our top 10 ways to bring the festive on:

1. String. Cats love it for a reason. String is like duct tape — it’s the ultimate multitasker. Get yourself a nice ball of red string and you can do everything from tying bows on the tree and hanging holiday cards to making tree-free mistletoe.

2. Pinecones. Grab the kids and make them hunt for pinecones. It’s a great way to keep them occupied while you get something else done (wrap gifts, bake cookies, catch up with a friend). And the best part: In the end, you’ve found yourself a free way to decorate the indoors. Fill a bowl, make a wreath — pinecones can do it all.

3. Trim the tree for less. You don’t need to break out Grandma’s sterling-silver ornaments to have a nice tree. Pop up some popcorn or get some cranberries and string them for a handmade approach to tree trimming. You could even go preschool-style with construction-paper circle chains — the kids love making them, and so will you.

For the rest of the article please visit http://www.thedailyjournal.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=201012030303

About donnarhomes

My name is Donna Richardson and I am the broker/owner of RE/MAX Main St. Realty in Moorestown, NJ. I have been in the real estate industry for over 20 years. I love what I do and it really shows! I am constantly continuing my education, and also volunteer in the community Aside from my love of my work, I have a fun side as well. I pride myself on being part of a large, close-knit family. I am happily married to the love of my life, a chief of police, I have 6 children and 7 grandchildren. When not working I love to bike, run, do yoga, play on the wii fit, travel, and go to our beach house in Sea Isle. I love my personal and my professional life and pour 100% into any endeavor! I hope you enjoy my blog, please feel free to leave comments as well! As always remember Donna Richardson for all your real estate needs!
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Real Estate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment