Pick up your phone!

There is a quote by famous runner Steve Prefontaine “Life’s battles don’t always go to the strongest or fastest man, But sooner or later the man who wins is the fellow who thinks he can,”, that is really a great quote, and quite inspiring.  However, it is irrelevant in today’s real estate market.  I came to this realization the other day as I was looking for some inspiration to push me through the end of a busy day.  I thought to myself, “you can think all you want that you can sell real estate, but the truth is in today’s climate the race is definitely won by the fastsest man”.  Now, you may be wondering, what the heck am I talking about?  Lately I have received numerous lead emails, and phone calls.  Some have been bogus, but quite a few have been legitimate, deal making leads.  For instance, I recently had both ends of a deal from an internet lead.  So, what does that have to do with being the fastest, or the title, pick up your phone?  Well, frankly, everything.  I start out the converstation with every lead almost in the same fashion, are you looking to buy or sell, are you prequaled, and are you working with another agent (I do not like to step on other people’s hard work, or toes).  Low and behold almost every lead has said, no I am not working with an agent, you are the first/only agent to call me back!  Wow, the first time I heard it I patted myself on the back for being efficient, the second time a coincidence, but the third and fourth time it was definitely a pattern.  Thus, my point is most likely quite apparent at this point, but I will say it anyway, be quick when responding to a lead via email, or phone call.  Clients will most often go with the first Realtor to respond.  Why pass up making a sale, because you did not want to take 5 minutes to type an email, or make a phone call?  So next time you get a lead, respond, and respond quickly!

About donnarhomes

My name is Donna Richardson and I am the broker/owner of RE/MAX Main St. Realty in Moorestown, NJ. I have been in the real estate industry for over 20 years. I love what I do and it really shows! I am constantly continuing my education, and also volunteer in the community Aside from my love of my work, I have a fun side as well. I pride myself on being part of a large, close-knit family. I am happily married to the love of my life, a chief of police, I have 6 children and 7 grandchildren. When not working I love to bike, run, do yoga, play on the wii fit, travel, and go to our beach house in Sea Isle. I love my personal and my professional life and pour 100% into any endeavor! I hope you enjoy my blog, please feel free to leave comments as well! As always remember Donna Richardson for all your real estate needs!
This entry was posted in Real Estate, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment